Wild Wednesday . . . Garden Visitor

I haven't seen the weka walking through the garden recently but today this one walked right past the forester and went to where the seed dish is placed for the birds.  The dish is up on a post and seed gets scattered onto the ground below.  The weka was enjoying the free food.  I think I will call it Wiki because that is the Maori spelling of Vicki which is my name.  I have no idea if it is female or male.  Wiki weka is flightless, curious and about the size of a hen.  Sometimes it can dig up bulbs or young plants and poke holes in spinach leaves but mostly it is fun to have it poking around.  The extra is the wax-eyes in colour.  I liked the attitude of the one on the right demanding a turn.  The one on the left is not moved.  They are funny wee birds. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.