When I’m old I shall wear Red

I’ve decided that whatever that well known poem said, purple is far too ageing- I’m going down the red route. I have a red walking pole should I eventually require a stick to run along the railings, so all I have to do is get me a red hat that doesn’t match and doesn’t suit me and I’m all set to be that old lady you might want to avoid in future.

I set off to buy a respectable pair of trail type trainers, waterproof and sturdy for winter use and ended up buying these funky looking red boots as well.
On the premise that there are no pockets in shrouds, I thought to spoil myself with some retail therapy. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for no blisters or other podiatry problems which always seem to occur after one leaves the shoe shop.
So far so good as I test them out in the house.

I didn’t dare wear them to cross the Meadows this afternoon and sit outside Victor Hugo with a running friend. It would have been too soon to know there was an issue with them.
My friend has been through a really harrowing time since we last met but is keeping strong for as long as it takes. Partly to keep her stress levels down she has been making soaps and presented me with a box of the most professional looking ones beautifully wrapped. I think they may well feature here tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.