Pump...

This is my 4th time of trying to post this. Each time it rejected. Flipping nuisance on a day when I wrote a fairly long story!
Yesterday I posted my blip mid morning and at lunchtime I had a call to say that the Guernsey I had ordered was ready. The threatened rain had held off so I decided to go to get it. Big mistake! As soon as I got on the bus it started to pour. The factory is a 10 to 15 minute walk from both buses that go that way so I was getting pretty soaked. I meant to try the jumper on but because I didn’t want to miss the bus home I didn’t bother. 
Well because of diversions and kids leaving school it was over half an hour late! And all the while it rained..
When I was home and dried out I tried my Guernsey on and it felt a bit looser than I expected. But hey I like loose clothes. But later I tried it again and it really was too big. I measured it and it had a 58” chest! I haven’t been thin for many years and I put on a bit of weight in lockdown but 58”! The biggest size they offer is 56”. So I knew I would have to return it.
This morning I saw the orthopedic surgeon. He looked at my x-ray, asked a lot of questions and examined me. The impression I got was that he didn’t think my hip was severe enough to merit an op and I was quite happy because I don’t want an op that isn’t necessary and I’m not too keen on the idea of general anesthetic; though I haven’t had a bad experience.
Then he said let’s get things moving, completed a couple of forms and said if I wanted to go ahead I should sign them. He said that he believed that was being very stoical in what I had said to him and that in fact I would benefit greatly from a new hip. When he told me it would be done with a spinal it was the icing on the cake. He was surprised because in his experience many people are not keen on that idea. I still have happy memories of my bunions op when I had to ask for a spinal rather than general.
I took the pic on my way from the surgery to the bus stop to return my giant Guernsey. The guy there was amazed at the size of it and asked his father who had made it what on earth had happened! They will make a correctly sized one for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.