karisfitch

By karisfitch

Welcoming Wards

Lovely first day back on the wards as a student! After a very long break! Though only realised when I arrived that I’d forgotten to pack the top half of my uniform...whoops! Thankfully the top I was wearing was the exact shade of navy as my scrub bottoms, and the staff in care of the elderly wards tend to be very caring and understanding people.

Highlight of the day was chatting to a 95 year old lady who I’d previously met on a Zoom teaching session on Tuesday. Had a great time listening to her tell stories and recite poetry about her hometown Annalong! A sad ward in many ways though - many patients who come in don’t return to the place they know as home. Today I’m grateful for continence (most of the time haha!), the ability to walk, recognise people I love, the freedom to choose where I live, conversations with strangers that skip the small talk, the joy of FaceTime, and the feeling of working towards something again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.