karisfitch

By karisfitch

Hope for heavy hearts

My prayer for today.
HarlingDarling said it so well:
“Sad things are happening for friends of mine, and everything else seems unimportant on any level really.”

Spent some time today with a lady who’s been struggling with intense bouts of anxiety since coming into hospital. Staff are running round doing everything they can to get her bloods screened, her mobility targets reached, her scans issued. Important jobs - they work so hard to care for the inpatients here.
I sat down to take a clinical history from her, but she very quickly became emotional, so we had a good cry together instead. It’s a lovely position not to have so many responsibilities and deadlines, that there is time for that. I told her that something that has helped me manage anxiety, is listing things I’m grateful for - something I’ve learned from a few of you on Blip. So we did that together. She’s still suffering, there’s no quick fix to emotional pain, but one of my gratefuls today is that I wasn’t too busy just to be company for someone who wanted it, and enjoy hers too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.