Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

Antroxu 2013

Well it's here again. The 'Antroxu' festival. It's a curious mixture of pancakes, fancy dress, lent, carnival processions, local 'charanga' drum bands from the barrios and the burial of the sardine at the end of the festivities. At least this year's photo is a bit more festive than last year's.

Normally I show willing and wear fancy dress, but last year I didn't as I was fed up with getting strands of artificial beards (of the magician and hippy varieties depending on the year) in my mouth and wearing itchy wigs.

This year however I will be bearing all as a clean-shaven Sherlock Holmes in my new outfit, complete with pipe and magnifying glass. Together with friends we shall be investigating several local bars tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.