Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

Experimenting

I attempted an emulsion lift on a Polaroid film for the first time a few days ago, and it proved difficult. I could not get the emulsion lift out of the water without it folding and ultimately getting damaged, so I left it in water for a few days ago let the water evaporate, making it and the drawing paper easier to remove. I settled on leaving some creases to create a 'distressed' effect, though the tearing and other damage was not intentional. Since I was expecting problems, and this was really an experiment, I chose a very poor quality print, very badly exposed, rather than risk losing a good print. Well, I've finally finished working on the result, including photographing it today and then doing some tweaks in Photoshop, and here it is. I can't say that it has any real merit, but useful as an experiment. I may try again some time, but I need rot find a way to get the emulsion onto the drawing paper and lift it out of the water more easily and quickly, without all the creasing. As a secondary experiment I used not only Photoshop in processing the image, but also used some Nik software - in the past I have only ever used Silver Efex from the Nik suite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.