Sunny Sunflowers

I am trying to make the most of a beautifully mild sunny day by sitting outside on the patio to write this blog. before what is forecast as a miserable weekend.

I had arranged to meet one of the Merry Widows for coffee in Bruntsfield this morning and though it was a good time to execute a minor diversion to deliver a gingerbread to the doorstep of David and Luca. I never dare ring the bell during working hours as they are both working from home but after depositing the said gingerbread on the said doorstep, two workmen appeared who said they were going into the house and would have to ring the bell anyway. I missed a doorstep chat with David and have only seen their new kitchen on Instagram. I wonder how long it will be before I can get beyond their doorstep.

We two Merry Widows had a good chat over coffee before I walked back in the sun to buy some shopping and make a pan of squash and apple soup with a hint of cinnamon and some chilli flakes .
The waiter as we paid the coffee bill asked me what I was doing this afternoon, in the way a hairdresser never fails to ask what you are doing at the weekend, and I could tell he was a bit blindsided by my answer of ‘nothing’. He then wished me a lovely afternoon doing nothing. I forgot to tell him about Blipfoto.........oh, and the soup!

It’s wonderful how simple sunflowers can make the world seem a cheerier place. The ones in my window I have blipped, were given to me by my neighbour ( of leak fame) above me. I love the way they turn their big blowsy heads to follow the sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.