pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

"Walk it off."

The weather forecast for this weekend is terrible.

It will almost certainly put paid to the plans I had for m’boy’s birthday treat, so a recalibration will be needed.

Before then though, with the children waiting in the wings for their weekend with me, I thought it best to re-calibrate myself. With a lunchtime meeting already booked in with a friend and the weather not looking too bad, I booked a half day holiday and took myself off on a walk down river. Something I had not done for a long while, but boy was I glad I did.

It was so nice to get back into nature and be near the relaxing sound of the water. I saw fish leaping out and an egret, buzzard, wagtail and a dipper all peacefully going about their business.

A spot where I had stopped earlier this year to sit and dangle my feet was now well under water, a sure sign of the tightening of the autumnal grip.

Returning home, I was greeted by The Eldest and we had a crafty brew before heading off to spring the wee ones from their after-school club.

No idea what the weekend will now hold in store for all of us, but really looking forward to finding out! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.