D77

By D77

Nine hundred and sixty six days later...

We woke this morning to localised flooding caused by last night's storm. Some of the roads in my area were built on old Wadis which fill up really quickly and turn into mini rivers when it rains. It's a real pain in the ass to get around when this happens but to their credit, the Omani road people did a fantastic job of keeping the main highway moving along meaning I could get to pick up Mum and Sandy as planned for a coffee at Shatti beach. My Mum has been here quite a few times and has never seen grey skies, wind and rain (not all at the same time at any rate) and it was quite amusing to sit watching a cruise-ship full of American tourists walking about in waterproof jackets and hats.

When the conversation turned to blipfoto, we had a nice chat about how much they enjoy reading my journal. Although I made a decision recently to sacrifice popularity and to record primarily for me, I do still tend to write with readers in mind and have felt a little despondent with the lack of interest I seem to be generating of late. Because of this, and also because of what seems like a lack of any spare time these days, I was planning on making this entry (my 365th) my last, at least for a while.

Talking to these two however (pictured here in mid-flow of their favourite pastime of taking the piss out of each other) changed my mind in an instant. It's nice to know that people outside the blip community like Mum, Sandy, Mags (happy birthday for tomorrow by the way Mags; sorry to steal your thunder for the day!) and Dad are reading it daily and enjoying my write-ups. The proposed feature where non blippers will be able to leave comments is the one I'm most looking forward to, so, continue I shall, safe in the knowledge that I have an Edinburgh fan club to keep happy.

Well, that's enough from me for just now. I'm getting married tomorrow and will be heading off to Paris early the next morning for the honeymoon, so I won't be around for a while.

In the meantime, cheers Joe, G, TFP, wingpig, fiori and everyone else who follows my journal.

I'll be back soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.