Staffs

Despite running into my friend Georgina on the way to the car rental place, which was nice, it was a frustrating morning. I’ve regularly bemoaned car hiring, and today was the cherry on the cake. A word of warning to anyone planning to use Europcar in Cambridge: don’t. I had reserved a car but when doing the normal security checks I was called ‘dishonest’ about my living situation, when I was just answering questions and have rented there before. The utterly miserable bloke behind the counter enjoyed wielding his limited power to say he didn’t feel comfortable to rent me the vehicle I’d booked. To say I was livid doesn’t begin to cover it.

The day improved when I finally arrived at the parents’ pad in Staffordshire, as they dished up the old favourite of sausage, beans and mash followed by apple crumble and custard. Along with his bowl, pictured are my dad’s new Su Pollard-style reading glasses, a surprising choice for a man who shuns glamour and glitz. As he buys packs of reading glasses from Wilko for £3, instead of visiting an optician, I deduce that plain frames were hard to locate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.