AviLove

By avilover

Down under

An SP was recently requested, and since I don't have much in the way of bird pictures today, y'all get this bird, at the end of the world.

Well, the end of Highway 1. That's the road that runs the whole length of the North and South, and terminates here in Bluff, where the Stewart Island ferry docks. I crossed back over to the mainland this afternoon, over much more heinous seas than the last time. If it hadn't been for Ginger Magic, I would've been tossing my cookies all over the place. It was epic...but I could tell it gets much worse than that, by the jolly exclamations of regular ferry riders: "Ohhhh that wasn't too bad todayyy!" Right.

The "breeze"--as the skipper referred to it--had kicked up all kinds of seabirds in the strait. There were heaps of albatrosses and shearwaters whipping around, which was thrilling to see again. Since arriving on Stewart Island I've really fallen in love with seabirds. I feel a masochistic addiction developing....

So yeah. I'm far away from home. 10,000 kilometers or so. Now I start working my way back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.