Buttons

Managed to do some actual work today, not a lot but it's better than nothing. I really fear that a second COVID wave and then a no-deal Brexit will push the UK into a recession from which I won't get to keep my job. I know we are hurting at work, and I'm sure lots of other people are in the same boat, and I can't see a way out of it.

While COVID may be a natural disaster the handling of it in the UK has been particularly poor, and as poor as it has been in France at least we can look across the channel and say we're not as bad as the UK. Either way, neither nation are doing that well, and I fear that a second wave is already washing over both nations and it isn't going to end well.

Brexit is a self inflicted catastrophe, from which I suspect the UK will not survive. Scotland and Northern Ireland will probably leave the union, and though I don't think Wales will, growing dissatisfaction with all things Westminster, will increase nationalism there too. I have very little family left in the UK, just my father really and no other ties other than my job. So while I'm physically shielded from the insanity in the UK, I'm still very much at the mercy of it - and there is nothing I can do about it.

Today's semi-abstract back blip is the inside of a jar of 70% cacao buttons that I add to the milk along with some 100% cacao solids to make a hot chocolate drink for my wife. I used to use 100% buttons, which were so bitter that they were inedible (can't get them locally), but these 70% ones are just about fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.