Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Sunset Point

At last the end of a long week. About time too. It's been a lovely evening; I've been catching up with my Grandfather for the first time in eight years. It's so good to see him and I still can't believe he's here in New Zealand. Weird, but in a very good way. I can't wait to spend more time with him over the next few weeks, and I'm looking forward to showing him around the Peninsula and also the West Coast. He's going to love it here.

After leaving the bay, we then swung past the opening friday night for the Blue Duck Cafe at Motukarara. Friday nights are going to be a casual affair, with chef-owner Glen knocking up some mean burgers, fish and chips and pizza. But, true-to-form, these are no-run-of-the-mill light meals, oh no. Glen's crispy beer battered gurnard and thick cut fries was the best fish and chips I've had in all my years here in NZ, bar none. And, by the look of his burgers, it's not going to be long before this stop on the way home is going to be a tradition come the end of the working week.

So, now that the non-photo stuff is out the way, how about a nice shot of the rail trail bridge at Sunset Point, overlooking Lake Ellesmere and the distant Southern Alps? The sky was amazing in every direction.

What a great way to round off a superb evening...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.