Borders Abbey Montage

As I was travelling down to the Lake District to a photographic workshop I decided to give myself a photographic project to capture all of the great Borders Abbeys. They are all, of course, derelict but still capture the spirit of a bygone age prior to the dissolution of the monasteries. My first port off call was Kelso where the abbey ruins stand right of the edge of the town centre. I then popped down to Jedburgh which was a bit of a diversion from my route but only took about twenty minutes. I found my google map app an absolute godsend as many of these borders towns nestling around rivers are a nightmare to navigate. My next stop was Dryburgh which is hidden away in the countryside. Initially as the site was closed for lunch I was trying to take an almost hidden view of the abbey through the trees but the conservator popped out of his hut to advise me to go through to the car park of the hotel next door as this would give me far better views of the abbey which was certainly true. It also meant that I was able to complete my project without spending any money of entrance fees. Why final stop was in Melrose where once again the abbey is right near the centre of town, As they appear in my montage from top left they are Jedburgh, Kelso, Dryburgh and Melrose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.