KatGirl

By katgirl

Desert Morning

It was cold this morning and I was achy. I dropped Bob off at school and drove to the Desert Botanical Garden. But it took a long time to convince myself and my angry hips and knees that walking was a good idea.

It is always a great walk there first thing in the morning. The desert smells and sounds wonderful. I saw a coyote, a road runner, lots of quail, a woodpecker, a cactus wren, and countless other unidentified birds. I wonder how many hundreds (thousands?) of animals and insects were hidden as I passed by?

The garden is definitely not a place for vigorous exercise. It is more of a place for learning and spiritual renewal - a very nice way to start the day.

And it was a good day. My Mom is finally able to do more and more of her normal activities. Bob, after 7.5 years, has finally been released from doctor's appointments every 3-6 months to check his growing progress. He is now the ideal weight for his height. While he remains the pickiest eater on Earth, he has lately proven to often have a remarkable appetite. It is fun to see him outgrow his clothes so quickly, such a novelty for us!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.