You Got It

I just couldn't help myself as he was so close to where we were staying so I  had to have a second crack at getting a feeding shot of the Hoopoe. A very rare sight and I just hoped he was still going to be there for me before flying back to winter in Africa.

He disappeared as soon as I got out of the car but flew back in due course  to the dung heap area. Creeping round and shooting through a hedge it was great to see his feeding technique at close quarters. Digging away with his long bill the grub was pulled or speared out of the soil, either thrown up to land in his mouth or put down to get better purchase and then thrown deftly upwards for the catch.

He is really quite small only 25 -29cms from the tip of his beak to the end of his tail but looks so much bigger when he raises his crest which is quite impressive. Great to see and I think even Hubs secretly liked seeing the little chap foraging. 

The water feature is on order so autumn will be very exciting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.