Sprout lover

By robharris35

Halcyon lockdown days

My old friend and workmate Laura has decided not to come back to work after her parental leave, so she’s been wrapping up. Everyone is sad not to work with her, but we can hopefully nab her for some consultancies. She was in Cambridge today so we bought falafel wraps at the market and sat on the King’s College wall. I was regaling her about those early lockdown evenings when I wouldn’t see a soul in these spots if I walked slightly later when it was getting dusky. As eerie as those moments were, they were likely unique experiences in our lifetimes. Unless we return to a dystopian world like that opening scene of 28 Days Later. If we do, can it please be after I’ve achieved my return journey to Mozambique.

I learnt today that the smell of wet cat food will linger on a phone screen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.