Soggy Walk

As I described yesterday the rain fell all day in great quantities. When we woke up this morning it was still falling. However, after a while the rain stopped and when I poked my nose outdoors the air felt...    drier! As the sky brightened up and our path dried out we decided a walk was needed, in case the rain returned.
We took our usual route down to the lake and the jetty and even on the way down we could see that the lake had risen and ducks were happily swimming on what is normally a field. Closer to the jetty the stream that fills the lake was bubbling along, rushing eagerly toward the lake, almost spilling over onto the path. Instead of the walk across the grass to the jetty there was a deep wade involved. Jan's walking boots would have been swamped and my wellies are old and leak so we both bottled out.
It was a good walk though. We saw a smidgen of blue sky and the sun shone for a few minutes.
Being a Wednesday it was film night and as usual we ate dinner with Rose, and then, a first since Covid arrived, we went to the cinema and saw "Army Wives". I'd give it 3 out 5, enjoyable, nice enough but nothing specially memorable. But I was the only guy in the cinema, out of an audience of about 17, so maybe I wasn't part of the target group. (The cinema only sells a limited number of tickets, so there's room to distance.) When we emerged it was raining again. Looks like the lake is only going to get deeper over the next couple of days!
Just before I published this picture I backblipped four pictures, filling the last gaps in my journal. They were pictures from our last trip to the UK in November last year, an embarrassingly long time ago. I only mention it in case you saw a strange out-of-place photo in the short time before this picture appeared!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.