Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Lion's Mane

#2 Son and I believe this to be a Lion's Mane mushroom. We discovered about six of them - each on the end of a piece of firewood in a pile that The Husband had put on our front porch in readiness for the beginning of fire season. #2 Son asked if he could have them, so he came to pick them up this afternoon. He's going to give them to, or share them with, a neighbor of his who is very knowledgeable about - and into - mushrooms. It's definitely a great looking thing! And supposedly edible and useful for medicinal purposes of some kind.

Since he's been living in a cabin in the woods for the past year, #2 Son has gotten very into nature. Birds, animals, mushrooms, plants... he's out there walking in the woods and sending me pictures and we are always discussing his latest sightings. It tickles me that he's starting to try to identify the birds that come to his place. He has a pair of phoebes that nested on his porch and a Carolina wren that nested under his porch and the other day took a photo of a bird that he said was with others of its kind eating the berries on a dogwood tree - sent it to me and darned if it doesn't look like a hermit thrush! My fave!! So I'm jealous now. But I'm enjoying having someone sharing my enthusiasm!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.