Imagine the view....

By btc

Strand £220...

....the monopoly board has it right but most Londoner's (including myself) say it wrong, we (I bet you do too) would always call it 'the Strand' whereas as it is just 'Strand' (fiver says you are testing it out in your head).

I have linked the picture to the map but for those that don't know Strand runs east to west from Trafalgar Square to Fleet St and is the southern border of Covent Garden.

As well as the rather famous hotel you see pictured and a number of theatres, Strand has a Christopher Wren church on it I have previously blipped.

The road also once had 2 separate tube stations both called Strand, one on the northern line now part of Charing Cross, the other was renamed Aldwych, now closed.

The road also had a song recorded by 'Blur' (sorry, its awful but had to be referred to).

It is also where and Aussies that get themselves into trouble will need to go because it is where your embassy is.

As always I have to say thanks for the comments, stars and favs for yesterdays blip with my man on the horse with shiny testicles but with one added question today, overnight there was a weird surge of about 500 views on my blip that I can't explain, I was wondering if one of you lovely blippers had written a link to my journal, just being inquisitive.

Alexander has a number for you today, whatever you are up to have a great Friday night and weekend.

You might also like to view this LARGE or in B&W and comment there if you wish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.