Vitalina Varela

A few days ago I watched a film (thanks to Sue, who gave me a subscription to Criterion Collection streaming services for my birthday) called Vitalina Varela (trailer here). The entire film was made at night (except for one scene, included in the trailer). I want to do more night photography now. The light, the shadows, the play of light across the planes of people’s faces: exquisite. I’ve now watched the film twice, and parts of it three times. It is the slowest movie I’ve ever watched. Little happens, certainly nothing you could call a “plot.” And yet it is mesmerizing to me because of the photography. Frame after frame is spellbinding. One critic wrote that the movie is like a photography book that moves. Slightly.

Speaking of photography books, Blurb had a 50% off sale for 48 hours, so I started one yesterday and finished that one and two more, all of them 70+ pages, today. I took a walk around dinner time. 

Thanks to those who took the time to watch Silent Voices. I hope it touches people's emotions enough to encourage them to think about the nature of police work, the different ways it manifests in different countries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.