Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Inspired by Vitalina Varela

This is my first try at night photography, inspired by Vitalina Varela. Sue kindly offered to sweep the leaves off her sidewalk after dark so I could make a start. There's a wonderful interview with Vitalina here, eight minutes and she sheds tears and doesn't wipe her tears away or hide them. That led me to wonder why most of us think we have to wipe tears away, why people always hand us a tissue, as if tears are shameful. I think tears are a gift, a sign of the heart cracking open to hold more. I respect tears.

And my Blip friends, I respect your photographs, your journals, your interests; your losses, your celebrations, your laughter. I have been here for ten and a half years, though I've never been an everyday blipper. It's against my nature. But I'm here frequently, and I never tire of hearing your stories, our stories. All stories belong to all of us, really. Thank you for your stories and for responding to mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.