The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Moody

I could try and fool myself that this cow portrait was deliberately soft focus, but to be honest it wasn't. The sun was still struggling through the cloud on the horizon, her ladyship had turned to look directly at me, the light was still too low to use the telephoto reliably. But I rather like the soft, blurry look created by camera shake rather than the alternative of a big slobbery lick of the lens.

This is another one of the conservation crew grazing on Arnside Knott. It was good to be on the Knott again with Gus after a few days away. The sun is now rising at about 0730, and soon I shall have to be very early if I am to see it. It was almost like spring this morning, and we had a song thrush singing in the garden.

I tried to get back in time for the sunset, but as the sky was becoming golden, the car developed a very loud clatter. A large piece of aluminium was hanging off and dragging along the road. By the time I had stopped and pulled it free, the sun was gone. I'm still foxed by what it was that came loose, the car is otherwise working normally.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.