simisue

By simisue

LANTANA

In keeping with my discovery that I am starting to like orange flowers,
here is a Lantana, for October.  This perennial shrub is a member of the Verbena family & is sometimes called Shrub Verbena.  It is very common in landscapes here & comes in a variety of colors.  (See EXTRAS)  

This plant is native to the tropical areas of the Americas & Africa, but has also been introduced to  many areas of the world.  I am always amazed when a plant I like can be despised by others.  It is considered to be a noxious, invasive weed in Australia, South Africa & India.  Here is an interesting contradiction:  the leaves are toxic to livestock & rabbits; but butterflies & hummingbirds love the flowers, plus some birds love the seeds.  

We rarely see livestock (actually never) in our neighborhood; & we are being over run with rabbits,  ( I counted 40 on a walk).  My neighbors may have planted this woody shrub to rid us of this darling scourge.  Whatever the reason, I really like this plant & include the pink & yellow variety in my front yard. (SEE EXTRA#3)  There is a blue & yellow variety, which is my favorite.

PS:  The news cycle is voracious, but it seems the fly on Mike Pence's head has traction, because there is now a Halloween wig available resembling his hair with the fly.  Apparently he was trashing Black Americans when it landed, so a Twitter meme landed which says:  "Pence's one Black Friend."  
It is so stressful worrying about the election, that a little humor helps take the edge off.  (in theory, anyway)

Have a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.