simisue

By simisue

STRANGE OUTDOOR DECOR

When we lived in Michigan, Halloween decorations were more
related to Autumn, with lots of pumpkins, goards, hay bales &  colorful wreaths on the door.  There was an occasionally skeleton, ghost or witch, but the outdoor decor was colorful & benign, for the most part.

When I first started walking in our neighborhood, here in California, I became aware that I had landed in alien territory.  The decor is menacing & macabre, not festive & colorful. (SEE EXTRA)  I am trying to find the humor
in dog skeletons, but they make me cringe.  Somehow it reminds me of burying our beloved pets. 

I asked my friend from Ecuador if this is part of DAY OF THE DEAD
celebration, common with Mexican Americans, which honors
& remembers friends & family that have died.  She said no, it is not.

Of course, I blame it on our soon to be ex-president, for turning our country into a dystopian nightmare, where his feckless zombie cohort have turned the US into a COVID cemetery.  

Indoor & outdoor seasonal decor changes with time.  I look forward to the day when Halloween means 100's of children coming to our door dressed
as princesses, & firemen, Wiggles & Annie, hoping for something delicious.  And when that pumpkin wreath on my front door is not considered
 "old fashioned."  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.