Salmon or Seahorse?

I was considering making a fish pie again this weekend. I thought I'd pick up a bit of smoked salmon to put in it.

Big mistake.

Most of the smoked salmon didn't have a sell by date on it, which I found odd. The ones that did had a sell by date of er..... 5th February. I pointed it out to the lady at the fish counter. She said she was "sure it would be OK". Yeah right.

Then I spotted this. Echo Falls brand Smoked salmon from Scotland with a very eloquent description on the packet, using phrases like fishermen of Scotland, dry curing, traditional methods, native oak chips, the worlds finest smoked Scottish Salmon......and then a damning last line, in small print, "product of Poland". I kid you not.

After all that's been in the press this week, you have to wonder, is it salmon or seahorse ;)

I left without buying any. This weekend fish pie is off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.