Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Fruit, Flower, Insects

There's less and less blooming out there these days. On the left is the fruit of something called strawberry bush - euonymous americanus. Maybe one of these years I'll notice the plant when it's in bloom? Check the link to see all its other great common names! Apparently deer love it, but it's poisonous to humans. I seem to remember photographing it last year (on the road where we do our morning walk) and am surprised to find that I seem not to have blipped it before. Or if I did, I didn't tag it properly so I could find it again. On the right is goldenrod with a bunch of insects enjoying its pollen. Two ailanthus webworm moths, a fly of some kind, and some other small beetle-ish thing deep in the middle of it. Pickings are getting slim for the pollinators. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.