pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Berry nice

Although a cool wind whipped around it was a beautiful start to the day.

Feeling a little spaced after the double whammy of the drive down followed by a full-on working day thereafter, I wasn’t entirely sure what to do with my Saturday morning.

However, with some new pots purchased for the backyard (into which numerous bulbs will be deposited), but with plenty of space to fill, Mum’s invite to accompany her and dad to a couple of local garden centres seemed like a good way to go.

Picked up some more pansies and violas along with a couple of smaller plant pots including one in the shape of a VW camper van which I’m hoping the children will like. It was nice just wandering with my mum and dad to be honest and getting some guidance on what to get and where to put it. They know their stuff when it comes to gardening!

When we were joined back at home later on by my sister and her family, my brother in law got in on the planting action and told me about layering the planting of bulbs to get more longevity from a pot, which seemed like a good idea to me! 

With it being m’boy’s birthday on Sunday, I had a lot that I wanted to get done back at home, so decided to leave after a delicious chippy lunch with the family and of course plenty of cuddles and chat with my lovely niece.

Although a short break away, it was great to see the family again so soon and also to break up a monotonous routine that I had found myself slipping into. So quickly have I forgotten that back in the old days, y’ know when people had a complete face, my job saw me driving all over and seeing new places, people and things! 
I was also secretly looking forward to the drive back as it would give me the opportunity to continue on with Adam Buxton’s brilliant audiobook.

A good drive home was complimented by the discovery that a lovely friend had sent me a gift “with the hope it would make you smile” (it very much did) which was a very nice thing to come home to.

Such a simple thing to let someone know that you’re in their thoughts isn’t it? Means a lot to the person on the receiving end of that and we should all probably do it more. Naturally, this should be undertaken from a positive stand point and not “I’ve been thinking about you and how much of a b*st*rd you are. Here’s some dog poo I found.” 

As regards the photo +extra, I’d taken a wander around the ‘rents garden whilst waiting for them in the morning and was torn between the holly berries and a wider shot of the sun peeking through the trees. Thought it best to let the colour win wherever possible!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.