A Day Worth Recording

By Cheeseminer

Repelling with Purple

A pleasant evening in with S&G and a game of Alien Frontiers, S being a fan of the 'dice drafting' mechanism.

Tha game is one of colonising a planet (looks a bit Mars-like but I gather is supposed to be one called Maxwell).  The names of the regions on the planet relate to various SF writers.  I've installed a 'repel all boarders' device in the Burroughs Dessert to try and hang on to that region.

I can't actually remember whether I won or not (the sign of a good game with good company).  I think I did, just.

--
Dice Drafting - each player rolls a number of dice then uses these in various ways on the board.  Not as luck driven as basic games (e.g. Monopoly) as there are often good ways to spend all the dice, but not always in the way you wanted to spend them.  A game of optimising short- and long-term return from a randomly variable source.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.