A Strange Evening......

I started the day with a 13 mile ride and a photo of my Amphibous friends.  At first i didn't realize they had feet, so today I stopped my bike and got a close up of the family, about 3' away.  They looked terrific to me!
       The rest of the day was quiet, fun, relaxing, and all in all pleasant.  Until I met Roberta on the road and we walked the girls together to Friendship Loop.   She talked about how she like to eat out but wouldn't go by herself   ( her husband passed 4 weeks ago).  I don't have to have an opportunity land  my lap twice.... I asked her to join me at Ihop.  She was delighted.
     Once there, we ordered, the food came and was delicious, plentiful, and the company was very nice.......    Until the waitress returned.   She told me the bill was to high for me.  She didn't think pancakes and sausage with tea should cost $10.00, that it was too expensive.   So she looked at the menu, looked for something that was similar to what I order, but cheaper.
      Have you ever heard of that??      Me neither.   I left her a big tip for her kindness.     
On the way home, Roberta talked about 4 chairs she had to get rid of because she's moving.  SinceI was driving her home I went inside and the chairs were perfect for my little dining room table.   We loaded them into my car.   Now, I don't know anything about the cost of furniture, new or used.  I asked how much she wanted for them.   She didn't know either.  She said free.  I asked again, not wanting to take advantage of a really nice 77 yr old, new widow.    She replied, "$5.00 for all 4."
I said, "No, thats not right"
Roberta replied, "Ok, &5 for each:.
I said, "No thats not enough.  $10.00 for each".
Roberta said "No, that is way too expensive."    "How about  $25 for all 4 ?"
I was going to refuse when she said, "Good Night"   Lets go out to  dinner again......  She walked inside her house.
I got in my car, drove home to unload my new treasures.    I think I am going out for dinner in a couple of nights.

Have you ever heard of 2 people arguing down your bill in 1 night?
I sure haven't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.