The Last Gerber for the season.......

These Gerbers just popped up again.  I think they are going to be the last blooms for this summer.   You can see the leaves dying back, their ability to make sugars is spent and they are dying back, to make room for new ones after the winter.  I have had to cut way back on watering, only every second or third day.   Plus, we have had so much rain, sometimes I don't water for a week.    The days are shorter with far less sunlight, the heat has abated, to some degree.   Even with my bonsai, now is tricky because it's been so wet, but less sun.    Root rot can be prevalent at this time of the year, including molds, and slowing down of growth.
    I think this is the 13th year I have had these Gerber.  I flew them home from New Jersey, 13 years ago.   They have last many years and I continue to cherish them as they were a gift to me by my cousin's wife, Rochelle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.