A Stitch in Time

I have just completed this jigsaw, one I like very much and have done several times. The emphasis on stitching in the past is interesting as it is an issue I have thought about for a while. In the past stitching was universal in the, mainly female, population, whether it was for necessity or for leisure. It seems to me that these skills are gradually being lost. There are several reasons for this and maybe it is an inevitable result of changes in the way we live. It is sad though. 

I thought of this today, as what I have been doing is stitching. One of our granddaughters, who has just started at secondary school, has had to buy a bag from school in which to keep her art materials. It was suggested that their names could be embroidered on them. So, it was sent to grandma!! I wonder how many grandmothers have been involved in this task. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.