Centre Stage

I thought it was reasonably sunny until I used a long telephoto to pick out this tree far away and realised it was quite hazy. I didn't have high hopes of a usable image, given how flat it looked, but the dehaze slider lived up to its name.

Usually, I tend to think of dehaze as adjusting lower mid-tone contrast, whereas clarity seems to target the upper mid-tones. I think of them in terms of contrast, rather than using them as their names would suggest, to affect the mood of the image.

The histogram of this image reflected its narrow contrast range, indicating there was considerable room for manoeuvre. But I didn't need to go very far to produce a pleasing result.

I placed the colourful tree, resplendent in all its finery, centre stage, surrounded by a wonderful cast of supporting actors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.