Wending

I wended my way around Cambridge for much of the afternoon, landing in the village of Fen Ditton on the fringes of the city. The village pub has a sign by the door saying ‘regulars only’, taking coronavirus insularity to a new level. I sat on a bench in the churchyard and listened to a podcast from the channel presented by Ed Miliband. He comes across well.

For much of the rest of the walk I was contemplating the bizarreness of 2020 and not least my own limbo situation. As I walked past a junction I remember stopping at on a cycle ride or some meadows I relaxed in, I cannot identify whether things were two or five months ago. Compared to normal life there has been relatively little to punctuate the weeks, which vary much less now than in ‘normal life’. On one hand this represents a positive slowdown during which we can see the rat race for how unhealthy it is. On the other hand there can be too much time to contemplate the uncertainty of it all...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.