Plus ça change...

By SooB

Seeds

Moderate sleep last night (how my whole life has been reduced to how well I sleep).

Work, another lovely lunch courtesy of Mr B, then off into town for a meeting at CarbBoy’s school to discuss dealing with his dyslexia and other various dys’s. The meeting was, unexpectedly, with the Principal, wonderfully called Luc Picard. I didn’t take Mr B for fear of his inevitable attempts to make me translate some Star Trek reference. The school were great - which I had not been led to expect, and seem happy with my requests.

Afterwards, I spotted some gardeners in the beautiful municipal gardens next to the Lycée. TallGirl is mortified by my habit of striking up conversations with strangers, but sometimes it is useful and - anyway - I spent my first thirty years not saying boo to a goose so I have some catching up to do.

The upshot of my entertaining chat with the gardener was that he identified the fascinating plant we admired a few weeks ago (backblips to come!), told me how to grow it and collected these seeds for me! I can’t remember the name (sounded like silius, but he had quite a strong accent!) and I didn’t like to ask him to spell it, but I have the seeds! It comes in a red and a green form, the green form looking a bit fig-ish, but as a big plant, not a tree, and the red form has un ripe seed pods that look just like rambutans. Any identification gratefully received!

Later, crustless pie and Stranger Things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.