Low Tide

Mr PB and I did our own thing today; he went out this morning and ran into some heavy showers, meaning that he was back earlier than he'd anticipated. Meanwhile, I had a lazy morning and went for a wander this afternoon. Thankfully, the weather had brightened up, although there was still a few light showers. I walked along the coastal path to a nearby harbour where there were lots of birds feeding on the mud flats: Black-tailed Godwit, Dunlin, Oystercatcher, Turnstone, Redshank, Ringed Plover, Curlew and assorted Gulls including a (not so) Common Gull (see extras). Some of the herring Gulls were picking up mussels and dropping them on the shingle to try and break them. I was nearly back at the cottage when I dropped down onto the marsh to try and get a shot of some Brent Geese which were grazing there. Just at that moment I saw the beginnings of a rainbow so I hung around and watched it grow . Stunning! The Brent Geese are just about visible in the foreground. Eventually, the heavens opened and I beat a hast retreat back to the cottage. There's also a comedy shot in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.