An iPad Blip

This wasn’t what I was expecting to blip, but as I was about to load some photos into Lightroom on my pc it went into update mode. A couple of hours later it’s 20% through!!! I started digging out the pond today, but each time I went out it started raining! I had a lovely catch up with G by phone though. 

Day 214 / Day 2 of The 3 Tiers (for my record only)
UK deaths up 138 to 43,293 (revised basis), with a 18,980 rise in new daily cases, 4,941 patients in hospital and 563 in ventilator beds. Total cases to date globally pass 39m, up 1m in 3 days, and deaths pass 1.1m. New cases in France soared today to 30,621. Italy, Vatican City and San Marino added to quarantine list. Given the horrible trend in these numbers, I’m appalled at the stance taken by the labour leaders in the North West in rejecting a move into Tier 3. They are putting lives at risk and stirring up social unrest. The Labour leader wants a total countrywide, stricter circuit-break - they need to decide which side of the fence they’re on. I’m also annoyed that they’re giving out incorrect information about the support available, potentially leading to people not claiming what they could at an individual and business level. London is moving to Tier 2 from Sat, plus most of Essex, Elmbridge, Barrow-in-Furness, York, NE Derbyshire, Chesterfield and Erewash. TFL has been offered a £1bn bailout in exchange for fare rises and an extension to the congestion charge zone. I hear on R4 that the contracts for consultants working on Test & Trace do not include potential penalty clauses - I’m speechless! For the w/e 7th Oct T&T only reached 62.6% of close contacts, it’s worst performance yet. An interesting programme on R4 about how other countries do T&T - generally local and integrated with health systems whereas ours is national and not integrated. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.