New York : Paris : Sheringham

Well Sheringham actually. Firstly apologies to JohnRH for blipping the same scene, especially given the massive favour he did me today, but it was the only photo I took. Yesterday I had an eye test at the Optician, which I had tried unsuccessfully to bring forward last Friday after getting some flashing part circular lights and some shadows in one eye. The optometrist wanted to use eye drops to dilate my pupils and look to see if I had damage to my retina, but couldn’t as I’d driven there and he couldn’t see me later in the day either. So I asked John to drive me over first thing as there was a risk I’d have to go straight to A&E in Norwich. This thankfully wasn’t needed, I’d had a PVD (posterior vitreous detachment), but he could see no damage to my retina. So if you have such symptoms or ‘tobacco dust’, you should immediately get to an optician, A&E or emergency eye clinic as it needs to be treated straight away. I’m slightly irritated as I’d spoken to staff at three opticians and explained my symptoms, and none had an optometrist available, but more importantly they didn’t tell me to get to A&E. 

Such terrible news of the fatal stabbing of the MP Sir David Amess today, just awful.

Day 578 / Day 89 of Step 4 of Roadmap Easing (for my record only)
The R rate in England is unchanged at 0.9 - 1.1, with a daily infection rate of -1% to 2%. The ONS weekly infection survey of private households shows 1 in 60 with the virus in England (up); 1 in 80 in Scotland (down); 1 in 45 in Wales (up); and 1 in 120 in NI (up a tad). PCR testing at a private lab in Wolverhampton has been suspended after an estimated 43,000 in Eng and Wales have incorrectly been told they were negative between 8th Sept and 12th Oct (many had had a positive LFT beforehand). T&T will be contacting people who could still be infectious and close contacts to do a PCR test. It begs the question as to what oversight is in place for it to take so long to come to light. Unsurprisingly the ONS says that in the year ending Mar 21 all indicators deteriorated in their analysis of personal well being. Questions are being asked after Homebase saw a huge increase in profits, but hasn’t paid back the financial support they received during the pandemic. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.