The North/South divide.

I do apologise for this photo in "Comments" which I copied from The Times this morning.
   As a bona fide Lancastrian, albeit having had to move further south for work when we were first  married, I know the strength of feelings that the present Government are causing to those in the North. 
     My parents, and my dad in particular, called the South the "soft underbelly of the country." and  when Stephen and I moved to Portsmouth  for his first job,  phrase was used again.
   At least it was "better" when we arrived in the Midlands! We were "nearer".
 At this present moment in time the suggestion that a whole swathe of the North of England could be put into a more severe lockdown is seen as a step too far,  And there is a perception that the South is treated differently. (I am making no comments about that, just stating how it is seen by a lot of folk)  
The dyed in the wool Northerners have always felt excluded or at least distant from  all that goes on in Westminster. 
     These ideas go deep. 
This fight with the Government will go on until something gives. 
It could have happened whilst I am writing my Blip! Who knows!
   Things change so fast from day to day with regulations and restrictions, that it is hard to keep up 
    Now I'm off out for a walk!   
That should calm me down a little........ 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.