Windmill 'Nooit Gedagt', Budel

Almost tempted to use the title 'Mother and Child' ... see the little one on the right?  So cute!

'Nooit Gedagt' is the old spelling, 'Nooit Gedacht' the new spelling = 'Never Thought'.  I wonder what they never thought ... haha!

Knew from the start that I was coming back here to shoot this.  Afterwards, I drove around for more than half an hour trying to look for the third one.  It is a small village and I did not find it.  A good excuse for another drive to this area, but I need to have a fall-back so that the trip will not be wasted.  That shouldn't be a problem.

This evening, our prime minister announced that the whole country will now be in semi-lockdown.  Absolutely no eating out, face mask required in all buildings and even in parks, only three allowed to visit even at home, and the supermarkets are back to sanitizing their carts and limiting the number of customers allowed inside.  That is actually quite easy to do -- they have a limited number of carts available, so if the last cart is gone, you'll need to wait till someone leaves.  Our rates have risen to levels that now exceed those we had last spring.  Good friend Petunia and I had a dinner appointment for this coming Thursday evening, in Apeldoorn, our annual get-together, and we've had to call that off now because ALL restaurants will be shut for a month except for those with take-away options.

What do AW and I say about all this?  We don't mind.  At all.  Thankful, too, that my trips across the border are done as that sort of thing is being discouraged by the governments on both sides.  Our hospitals are filling up again.  Sigh sigh sigh ... what a traumatic year it has been, and it is not over yet.

I have accepted the invitation of a friend in Germany to join an online poetry marathon -- 8 days, a poem a day.  I believe my work will be translated into German and ... Russian?  I think it will be a fun ride!  Even in times like these, there's always an opportunity to practice positivity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.