lucky or what?

My computer is finally back in business.  It's taken a while.  And a lot of patience.  And a lot of luck.

The Apple store in MK took a look at it yesterday.  They were really good; very patient and well organised for dealing with the current situation.  There was nothing wrong with the hardware so they suggested wiping the hard drive and reinstalling a new operating system.  Luckily I had everything backed up on another hard drive.

That was in the afternoon - they rang early evening to say it was ready.  No charge.

So I've spent the morning backing up all my files from the other disc.  Took about 4 hours.  Then the final stage - the photo library.  That took another hour - and yay - all there.

I have a friend who used to work in IT - she has 3 backup discs.  Just in case.  I used to laugh - overkill surely?  But with 14000 + photos, perhaps not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.