Igor

By Igor

Man overboard

I feel a bit like this at the moment.  My recent software update has not gone as I'd hoped.  To cut a long story short, all my photos (14000 odd) are in two places - neither of which are accessible.  And my iMac is dead.  Moribund.  An ex-iMac.  

After successfully moving my Aperture library to Photos with all my projects intact, the final stage of the process was to update the operating system (the reason for doing this, was because Aperture would no longer open in the new OS).

The software update stalled and could not be completed.  Various restarts were tried to no avail.  An hour's phone call to Apple Support failed to produce a solution and so they booked the iMac in for an engineer to look at.  This will take some time given the current situation.

I cannot use my computer.  And if I could, the backup disc with all my stuff on that cannot be read because it's out of date and incompatible with the current OS.  

It goes beyond frustrating because it's not just about a bunch of photos.  We have gradually been forced over the years - and more recently by the pandemic - to adopt an increasingly on-line life.   A dead computer means I cannot easily access and manage my bank account.  Or any of the other things that we can now only do on-line.  

I know it'll all be sorted out eventually.  As my wee Mammy was fond of saying "worse things happen at sea".  Like falling overboard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.