Seaside

The last time I saw the sea was in March when I went to Clevedon with my sister and BiL. If things hadn't been locked down and subject to travel restrictions I'd have been at many seasides between then and now.

I took a long time to decide to go to Portobello today. It was a longstanding date - an October break day out. My daughter and I (extended household) went to meet a friend of nearly 40 years standing and her daughter (extended household). The younger generation are friends too. The four of us, plus Flora, had a great walk along the beach at Portobello at low tide. Then we watched the tide come up from the Beach House Cafe where we had a bowl of soup.

We all live within the area of central Scotland which is subject to extra covid restrictions. We stayed two metres apart outside. The Beach House had all its windows open. Balancing the risks against other aspects of health we feel we made the right decision.

But Friday afternoon traffic in Edinburgh! No fun driving home with the bypass at more or less a standstill. Some things aren't missed and that's one of them.

Have a great weekend everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.