JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Something to look forward to

A day of feeling a bit under the weather. So I've caught up with small things: clearing out worn-out horse riding kit that was ready to throw away, storing away the riding stuff that might come in useful for occasional outings with friends, taking a load of cardboard and household recycling to the council tip. Tip trips are rationed to one per car per day, I discover. Not a limit that I'm likely to test.
Richard has a bad attack of sciatica, so he's not doing much either.
This tiny orchid was a present from an old friend who now lives in Australia, on one of her rare visits back here. I've had it for some years now. Each year it puts out a long spike with stunning cream and maroon flowers, with long, delicate petals. It always reminds me of her. Definitely something to brighten up the winter gloom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.