Kilve

Another early start and a drive to Kilve Beach for the sunrise. The beach is more famous for its limestone structures and the richness of fossils. The tide was high this morning so there wasn't much of that stuff to see. We placed ourselves on the cliff top with a view to the east but the sunrise didn't really happen (in a photographic sense).

We went back to the hotel to pick up our bags and went out to get breakfast at the place we used yesterday. The plan then was to go across the border into Devon to Watersmeet and then home. This part of the plan didn't work out so well. 

About 50 yards from our destination I noticed something in the road. I tried to avoid it but felt a nasty bump. It was a sharp stone pointing upwards like a mini pyramid. By the time I'd parked the tyre was completely flat. I tried to changed the wheel myself but failed so called for roadside assistance. 

John went down to the cafe to get some tea, which was good of him. I did suggest he went and took some photos while I waited but he declined. The rescue bloke eventually came and before long he'd got the spare on. He didn't think much of the tread but I'm pretty sure my tyre guy wouldn't have put a spare on that wasn't legal. Anyway, I decided that I'd like a sound tyre so we set off to Barnstaple to get the original tyre repaired or replaced. There was a jagged tear in the tread an inch wide so it seemed repair wasn't an option. Anyway, a bit lighter of wallet, we were able to get on our way.

I'm home now and would like to thank so many of you for your stars and hearts on my images over the past couple of days and I'm sorry that I've had no time to visit journals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.