Ilmington

This morning I made some carrot and courgette soup which we had for lunch.  I did see a recipe for Parsnip and Apple Soup in the NT magazine, that sounds nice; I'll probably give that a go now we're getting into the 'warming soup' season.

After lunch we drove out to the nearby village of Ilmington.   Taking the hill out of the village there are lots of rural walkways so we parked up and took a public bridleway that led to a large, impressive building.  The area was obviously a pheasant breeding area, there being many youngsters and mature birds around.  It upsets me to think these birds are bred to be used as 'sport' and shot enmasse. So from the bird of prey I blipped yesterday to birds that are preyed upon today!

Anyway we had a nice walk with just the birds for company.  Along the way we spotted this building in the distance.  I'm not sure  what it's for, possibly a barn?  But it was quite a way from the main house.  There are pheasants scattered around on the ground in front of the place.  I've added an extra of a brace of youngsters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.