Taunton

As you know we enjoy taking little breaks every now and then. Today we drove to Taunton for a three day spell.  Hmm, why Taunton I hear you ask, well indeed, why not.

In 1973 I started a new job as a senior computer operator at Debenhams Support Centre in this town.  I stayed there a few years and left as Programming Team Leader, when I moved with my wife, Peter and Andrew, both born in Taunton, for a new job in Brecon, Wales.

I must admit I did not recognise anything of the town when we took a wander around the centre, though we did find the oldest Nero in the country, the building is dated 1578!

Eventually we managed to find the office block where I used to work, it didn't look any different except they've erected a statue, presumably in my memory, see extras.

The main picture is part of the castle, home to the Somerset Museum, which we're planning to visit tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.