Flower Friday

I don’t even know what these little pink flowers trailing out of a pot in Dana’s back yard are but there was a bee buried deep within one of them. They might be some kind of mini-petunias.

The BioSweep man came this morning and we had to be out of the house for 6 hours, so we loaded Ozzie into the car...no mean feat...he weighs almost 100lbs...and doesn’t help much. In fact, he starts shaking as soon as he sees what’s happening. But needs must. As we got him in, I realized I was shaking too!

Dana was at her post at the dining table and I took advantage of their working WiFi and joined my usual Friday morning Zoom Pilates class from the vacated bedroom. Dana’s cat, Sassy, snoozed next to my computer, which I remembered to bring this time.

While I was waiting after class at Trail House for everyone to convene, I thought about the fact that doing business with insurance companies, especially in a disaster when it’s ‘all hands on deck’, means that each little thing that needs to be done involves communicating with at least three people in three different states and different time zones telephone. They won’t let you do anything yourself before they have sent their assessor. They are all on the phone all the time, so if you miss their call you inevitably get their voicemail when you call back. None of these people seem to be able to grasp the concept that none of this can happen if you have no phone service. Even though I can’t believe it isn’t a very common problem. I asked one of them if he ever read his emails and he laughed! There is, it seems, no alternative to the phone call.

While I was at Trail House, where my phone works , the BioSweep technician called twice...first to see if we were expecting him, twenty minutes later to say he couldn’t find our house. I told him that if he turned 180° he would be looking at a large rock with our address on it next to our driveway....

The house does smell much better, but the process, whatever it is, doesn’t sweep up dog hair! Just deodorizes it, I guess....that’s good enough for me. I don’t have the energy to call anyone to come clean it up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.