‘Couldn’t escape if I wanted to...’

I was talking with my Australian friend Weh about British politics, about which he is usually baffled and bemused. Specifically, he can’t understand why the British public admires Boris Johnson in the droves that they do. I explained that I thought it has a lot to do with media messaging and control of the narrative. Weh said ‘I once again apologise for the existence of Rupert Murdoch.’ It’s true: a lot can be traced to the empire of that man.

During an online meeting, I was in the office along with my colleague Rob. We both joined from the same room but in order to maintain distancing I sat two metres behind him, yelling into the screen from afar. It was like an ABBA video with chairs spaced at different angles. Ironically enough, my colleague Nicolas is shortly to leave to work in Belgium, and he will move into a house in Waterloo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.